It’s been a while… but definitely making plans…

Hello Blues Travelers and followers of the Dread Head,

First off, let me apologize for neglecting my blogging duties. I’ve been rather busy heading into this summer season. I receive countless emails and calls from promoters, managers, and artists vying for an opportunity to perform at the 308 Blues Club. Many think we have a packed house every night full of over-enthusiastic fans waiting to hear the blues. Unfortunately, that is not always the case. Of course, we had immediate success earlier on and I want to thank each patron and performing artist and band that supported us then and those that continue to support us now. However, there is always expected downturn in this line of business which has forced several of us to go out and get regular 9-to-5’s. I think the biggest misconception about the 308 is that we are a mainstream club with plenty of financial backing. The truth is… We are a “Mom & Pop” operation. We have no sponsors or corporate support. What we do here is purely out of love. I want to thank my family and our close friends that happily volunteer their time and talents to keep this place going. This year will mark a decade of official business as the 308 Blues Club and Cafe. Over those 10 years, we have broadened our entertainment spectrum. However, we have always been anchored in live music and the blues.

Back to my blogging… Whenever I find a quick moment and an open wi-fi, I will continue to post relevant happenings in the Mississippi Delta. Whether it’s about the blues, politics, social issues, Delta culture, business, etc… you will hear from Mississippi Dread. In the meantime, you can always check my quick whims and clever remarks on Twitter and Facebook. And if we aren’t already connected, you can get with me immediately at http://www.fullyfollow.me/mariostrong.

Again, thanks to all for the years of support. We look forward to entertaining you for another 10!

About Mario Strong

Celebrating blues culture and promoting roots music worldwide. Fully engaged in an ongoing personal campaign towards raising social awareness and promoting a healthy consciousness throughout the Mississippi Delta. View all posts by Mario Strong

One response to “It’s been a while… but definitely making plans…

  • Kristian Blue

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking and checking back often!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

