In Celebration of Our History…

Some years ago, the 308 Blues Club welcomed an unexpected performance by the Myers Brothers Blues Band of Ottawa, Ontario (Canada). The brothers, Steve and Mike, were travelling the blues trail. They made several stops and performed many impromptu shows along the way; sharing their impressive command of the blues. Again, they happened upon our little club here in Indianola. It was a night to remember in celebrating blues music and the arrival of new friends.

The advent of Facebook has helped me maintain many of my connections throughout the world. Steve Myers and I correspond about the blues and my continued interest in Canada. This past weekend, Steve sent me a message about Canada’s celebration of Black History month. Honestly, I had no idea that our neighbors to the north celebrated such. I was aware that the Underground Railroad did assist slaves escape as far north as Canada, but I was not aware of the impact of Black Canadians in their history.

Again, these achievements are celebrated in the month of February and create a sense of pride and identity for our youth. Growing up in Upstate New York; I participated in many Black History programs throughout the year and not just in the month of February. My parents raised me with awareness of our history daily. Ultimately, I have concluded that Black History is not just American or Canadian History… but World History as a whole.

Celebrate your contributions to the world daily!

About Mario Strong

Celebrating blues culture and promoting roots music worldwide. Fully engaged in an ongoing personal campaign towards raising social awareness and promoting a healthy consciousness throughout the Mississippi Delta. View all posts by Mario Strong

Share your thoughts...

