Let me reintroduce myself…

This post originally appeared as a note posted to my Facebook page on July 28th. I thought it was quite relevant and should appear here for those who are just reading my blog for the first time and unsure who I am. If you would like to join my Facebook movement, visit http://www.facebook.com/mariotstrong

My name is Mario Strong. For those who did not know, I was born right here in Indianola, Mississippi. Indianola is home… and I have a vested interest in my home and it’s future.

Earlier this year, I participated in a Mississippi Delta Empowerment Council which stimulated my latent political interest. At that time, I decided to embark on a journey into Indianola city government and pursue the mayor’s office. If you have kept with my profile here on Facebook, you would have noticed several entries from my personal blog which establish my thoughts on our city’s strengths and our current issues. In addition, I promote hope and suggests resolve. Again, this is a journey that I would like to share with those near and far. I would hope that you too share that same vested interest in our hometown and it’s future.

If you would like to share your thoughts and help shape my campaign for a better Indianola, please feel free to leave a message at 662-298-4596.

For additional information, please visit http://www.mariostrong.net

About Your Candidate:

Mario Strong was raised in the suburban town of Fairport, in Upstate New York, just outside of Rochester. He graduated high school in 1991 and immediately started college at Jackson State University in Mississippi. Mario received his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science/Pre-law with honors in 1995. His senior year, he worked for the James Earl Chaney Foundation and was very much involved in the Jackson community. After college, Mario began work with a major telecommunications firm while in Jackson. This exposure to technology allowed Mario to work as a Research Manager for an optical networking start-up located at Georgia Tech in Atlanta. Unfortunately, the economy turned and Mario found himself headed back to Indianola. In November 2003, he co-founded the 308 Blues Club and Cafe. In Decemeber of that same year, he also co-founded the Mississippi Delta Blues Society of Indianola and served as its Vice-President. In 2006, Mario then relocated to Tuscaloosa, Alabama where he worked with a digitial media and web development company. Around that same time, he started working for a major shipping and delivering company which ultimately transfered him back to the Mississippi Delta full-time. You may find Mario helping out around the 308 or attending local blues related functions.

And so, your candidate is home and is ready to make some changes. But he needs your help…

About Mario Strong

Celebrating blues culture and promoting roots music worldwide. Fully engaged in an ongoing personal campaign towards raising social awareness and promoting a healthy consciousness throughout the Mississippi Delta. View all posts by Mario Strong

Share your thoughts...

